The Swan Dive

I am finally catching up with documenting and sharing all that I have been working on for a while. You know, because I promised I would.

Since the last post, I have completed a few paintings, expanded upon my diorammas, read, wrote, and thought a lot, as well as found many sources of inspiration in more photographs and the work of some incredible artists.

This painting was created very quickly after graduating in December. I had found this beautiful photograph as an illustration for “swan dive” in an old encyclopedia a couple of years ago. “Freeze frame” photographs, or photographs that portray some act of suspension in time and space, such as jumping or diving are really exciting.

"The swan dive" illustration from an old encyclopedia set found at the St. Augustine Flea market a few years ago.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I also found these animated stereo photograph .gifs from the Library of Congress online here. Some of these capture moving “freeze frame” moments and are so entirely fascinating (and somewhat nauseating). They make the scene feel so much more three-dimesional and real. Here is one of a diver:

CLICK ON PHOTO TO VIEW ANIMATED GIF - Animated stereo photograph from the Library of Congress.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

"The Swan Diver" Painting (in progress)

"The Swan Diver", Denise Liberi, 2012, Oil and acrylic on wood, 4' x 2' x 2"

This painting was finished pretty quickly and without much trouble.  I have picked up a different kind of wood panel for the next one, since this board started to buckle and crack a bit even after being gesso-d.

I am liking painting the figures in a more geometric, flattened, and illustrative way. It reflects the flattened nature of a photograph and is also an enjoyable process. I’m really looking forward to having the time to make some more paintings very soon!